Thread: Has Anyone Tried "Avene" for Rosacea?

Thumbs up Has Anyone Tried "Avene" for Rosacea?

Hi Everyone,
    This is my first time posting so please be patient with me. I'm in my 50's and have had rosacea since my mid 30's. Overall, I've been very lucky with very few flare ups. In the past year though I've had bad acne along my jaw line on both sides of my face; raised and very red blotches on both sides of my nose (that hurt); and really flaky skin. The acne on my jaw line appears as flat, red raw spots with flaking around the edges ... really weird.

I've tried MetroGel with very little noticeable improvement. In desperation, I was at the drug store recently scanning all the skin products for anything that might work. At the cosmetic counter I saw a product called Avene. I was given a few samples to try called Redness Relief Soothing Cream and also Diroseal Anti-Redness Skincare Lotion. I didn't hold out much hope seeing it was at the cosmetic counter but thought it wouldn't hurt to give it a try. Believe it or not ... it seems to be helping. The jaw line acne is clearing up and the flaking is much less pronounced. The raised red blotches are still there but about half as bad and I've only been using the testers for a couple of weeks. The Redness Relief Soothing Cream is marketed as a sunscreen but I've been using it as a lotion and it makes my skin feel calmer ... no burning or itchiness. The Anti-Redness Skincare Lotion seems to be geared specifically for rosacea so I've been using that only on the bad spots. I can put a light make up over the products and my skin doesn't look greasy.

Just wanted to share this with everyone ....

Andi